It’s kind of funny to me the strangely high number of people I know who are totally off the grid. No cell, no Facebook, no e-mails, no Twitter. I mean I guess it’s not such a phenomenon since 10 years ago we barely had any of it.

I was just thinking about an old friend today, Jerrad, who I really only see when we go home for Christmas. I was thinking how it would be nice to talk to him, see how he’s fairing; but there’s no phone number to call, no Facebook to leave messages on. It’s just a weird feeling! At the risk of sounding ignorant; is this what it was like for my parents?

It’s truly baffling to think about just how far we’ve come in such a short amount of time. Before I literally do anything in the morning, I check my e-mail, Twitter and Facebook. I associate those first daily encounters with waking up. If I didn’t have lines of text to read on a small, brightly lit screen 4 cm from my face, I don’t know how else I would wake up!

Anyway, I just had that thought and am now laughing because my first thought after have that thought was to put both thoughts on the Internet. I guess when you’re as embedded and obsessed with social media as I am, it’s second nature to share everything with it!

