May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

If you know me, you know I’m addicted to family drama TV shows. I can binge watch any family drama there is and love every second of it. From Gilmore Girls to Friends, I’ve watched them all.

Currently, I’m stuck on Parenthood. Lauren Graham got me hooked after watching all thousand seasons of Gilmore Girls. Jake always makes fun of me for it; he doesn’t know why I love these silly shows so much. For a long while I didn’t have an answer for him. Until now.

It’s 1:40 pm on Easter Sunday and I’m watching my 8th Parenthood episode today. Or what feels like the 8th. There’s something about the opening credits song that just pulls at my heart strings. I feel like I am a part of the family on TV, that I’m sharing in their adventures and their drama and their triumphs. It’s really psychotic, isn’t it?

I believe it all boils down to how long I’ve lived away from my family and how disconnected I feel from that part of my life. I keep that part in a shoe box under the bed and take it out maybe once or twice a year when I visit; other than that, I have my actual life. It’s really weird to me to think how Jake and I have this life together, that we’ve built for going on 5 years, that barely anyone knows about. We’re essentially in the secret club of just us. Our families don’t really know our lives, our current new friends don’t really know and neither do out long distance friends. It’s like, who knows us?

Luckily, we are very versatile people and we easily adapt to any situation we are in. But I think it’s really built this shell that we retract to. I mean like we’ve moved into this shell…I think I’ve decorated it any everything. (Oh and no pun intended on the shell joke.)

We’ve talked a lot lately about starting our own family when we get married next year and what that means for our future. We both want to move back to Oregon at heart, but it’s kind of like trying to put on a pair of jeans that fit you 3 years ago…you’re not sure if they’ll fit and if they don’t then it’ll be devastating. I’m honestly scared at the thought of moving back to Oregon yet I know that’s what my heart of hearts wants.

So watching these shows is like a replacement for the life that lives in my shoe box. It fits into my lifestyle right now. I just hope that someday I don’t have to keep that shoe box anymore.

May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May you grow up to be righteous
May you grow up to be true
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you
May you always be courageous
Stand upright and be strong
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
And may your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

